Course Evaluation (LVE)

The single most important aim of the evaluation process is to encourage a dialogue across all levels at the University on the quality of teaching, thereby contributing to the further improvement of teaching performance overall.

Quality Assessment Instrument

At the heart of the evaluation process are the online surveys in which students are questioned on their level of satisfaction with the courses they attend. In this way, students are given the opportunity to express their opinions on an anonymous basis and to refer to aspects of particular personal relevance. Instructors too benefit from the opportunity to recognize any problems and needs expressed by the students and, if necessary, adopt measures to improve the quality of their teaching.

Besides ensuring the quality of teaching, LVE is also required to report to various bodies (Executive Board of the University, Dean's offices, study program coordinators, student societies, Evaluation Office).

LVE periods and selection of the courses

The student course evaluations take place at the individual faculties on a rotating basis. Under LVE, all courses at Bachelor’s and Master’s level are subject to evaluation. Teacher Training for Upper Secondary Schools courses, language courses and other courses that overlap with the doctoral degree can also be included in the LVE.

Courses that end early in the semester are evaluated in agreement with the relevant CM advisor.

 

LVE is a quality assessment instrument that is regularly optimized according to faculty-specific circumstances, administrative guidelines and new technological developments.

Lehrveranstaltungsbeurteilung (LVB)

Wichtigstes Ziel der LVB ist die Förderung des Dialogs über die Lehre auf allen universitären Ebenen. Sie leistet damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Qualitätsentwicklung in der Lehre.

Qualitätsinstrument LVB

Im Zentrum der LVB stehen Online-Umfragen, in denen die Studierenden bezüglich ihrer Zufriedenheit mit den von ihnen besuchten Lehrveranstaltungen befragt werden. Die Studierenden erhalten auf diese Weise die Option, sich anonym zu äussern und auf für sie relevante Aspekte hinzuweisen. Auf Dozierendenseite ergibt sich die Möglichkeit, eventuelle Probleme und Bedürfnisse der Studierenden zu erkennen und gegebenenfalls Massnahmen zu einer verbesserten Lehrqualität zu ergreifen.

Neben der Sicherung der Lehrqualität unterliegt die LVB dem Auftrag der Berichterstattung an mehrere Gremien (Universitätsleitung, Dekanate, Studienprogrammverantwortliche, Fachvereine, Evaluationsstelle).

Zeiträume der LVB und Auswahl der Lehrveranstaltungen

Die Lehrveranstaltungsbeurteilungen finden an den einzelnen Fakultäten abwechselnd in einem festgelegten Rhythmus statt. Im Rahmen der LVB werden grösstenteils die Veranstaltungen der Bachelor- und Masterstufe der einzelnen Fakultäten evaluiert. Zudem können auch die Lehrer*innenbildung betreffende Veranstaltungen, Sprachkurse sowie einzelne Veranstaltungen, die sich mit dem Doktorat überschneiden, in die LVB miteinbezogen werden.

Frühzeitig im Semester endende Veranstaltungen werden nach Absprache mit den jeweiligen CM-Verantwortlichen evaluiert.

 

Das Qualitätsinstrument LVB wird gemäss den fakultätsspezifischen Gegebenheiten, administrativen Vorgaben und technischen Weiterentwicklungen regelmässig optimiert.